Your browser is unsupported and may have security vulnerabilities! Upgrade to a newer browser to experience this site in all it's glory.
Skip to main content

City and Guilds Technical Level 3 in Equine Management

Please arrive at the college at any time from 10am to complete your enrolment - it should take no longer than an hour. Enrolment takes place on the following days:

  • Thursday 20th August (10am - 8pm) TBC
  • Friday 21st August (10am - 3pm) TBC
  • Monday 24th August (10am - 5pm) TBC
  • Tuesday 25th August (10am - 5pm) TBC
  • Wednesday 26th August (10am - 8pm) TBC
  • Thursday 27th August (10am - 5pm) TBC
  • Friday 28th August (10am - 3pm) TBC
  • Tuesday 1st September (10am-5pm) TBC
  • Wednesday 2nd September (10am-8pm) TBC
  • Thursday 3rd September (10am-5pm) TBC
  • Friday 4th September (10am-3pm) TBC

Please follow the campus signage to find the enrolment hall. If you are unable to make it in for enrolment, please let us know by emailing enquiries@bishopburton.ac.uk or by calling 0800 731 8281.


INDUCTION WEEK 

Induction Week starts on Monday 7th September at 9am. Please use the college buses to travel in for your first day. (For returning students progressing to year two of this course, induction week will commence on Thursday 10th September.)

In order to successfully enrol, please ensure you bring:

  • A form of photo ID
  • National Insurance number
  • Exam results slip
  • Campus fee of £70
  • If you’re over 19, you will also need to bring a copy of your advanced learner loan information.

Please note, you must meet the entry requirements for the programme you have been accepted onto in order to enrol successfully. If you do not meet requirements, your enrolment on the programme will be at the discretion of the programme leader.

Autumn Term

Monday 7th September 2020 - Friday 11th December 2020


Autumn half term

Monday 26th October 2020 - Friday 30th October 2020


Spring Term

Monday 4th January 2021 - Friday 26th March 2021


Spring half term

Monday 15th February 2021 - Friday 19th February 2021


Summer Term

Monday 12th April 2021 - Friday 2nd July 2021


Summer half term

Monday 31st May 2021 - Friday 4th June 2021


You will undertake work experience as part of your course, this will give you the opportunity to put into practice the skills and knowledge you have learnt on your course. 

You will undertake regular duties on the college equine centre including weekends and will be expected to complete a minimum of 315 hours work experience in an equine placement of your choice. These work placements are a compulsory part of the course.  Previous students have worked in competition yards, racing yards, stud farm, with vets or therapy specialists so this is a really exciting part of the course which can lead to employment.

There will be many visits offsite and guest speaker arranged by your tutors to enhance your learning on the different units. You will have plenty of notice when these are.  We recommend that you start saving towards the cost of any over-night trips.

Before you begin your course, you’ll need to make sure you’re prepared with the right equipment. Many of our courses need specialist health and safety clothing, but we’ve made it simple - some of your essentials and college branded clothing can be bought from our online shop.

For your course, you will need:

  • Folder with dividers to organise your work and assignments
  • Stationery including notepad for use in class, pens and pencils
  • Riding hat and hairnets. Hats must be at current British Standards with logo (PASO15, VG1, ASTM F1163 or SNELL 2001). Hats solely with BSEN 1384 will not be accepted
  • Dark Coloured riding gloves
  • Dark coloured jodhpurs
  • Dark coloured waterproof coat
  • College-branded polo shirts and sweatshirts
  • Yard boots or wellington boots (NB: Boots are not permitted within the classroom, so a change of footwear is required)
  • Grooming kit in draw string bag; hoof pick, dandy brush, rubber curry comb, body brush, mane and tail spray and shampoo will also be helpful.

If you are planning to take riding on the flat or over fences as unit options, you will also need the following:

  • Body protector (BETA Level 3 009 with purple tag). Please note, these are not unless jumping. We do not permit Air Jackets in any sessions relating to your course
  • Dark coloured riding gloves
  • Long riding boots or short boots with gaiters (leather)
  • Schooling / jumping whip.
Bishop Burton College
York Road
Bishop Burton, East Yorkshire HU17 8QG

If you would like to talk to us about anything before you start, please use the details of the key person who you may need to speak to.

Get in touch